NZ 2009-10 National Teams Announced

November 10th, 2009

NZ National Team Member Nick Brown throwing some backflips in joy over his selection in the team.
Photo: Vaughan Brookfield

The New Zealand Snowboard Union (NZSBU) this week announced its 2010 National Team and Development Squad.

The 46-member NZSBU team represents the pinnacle of New Zealand snowboarding today and embodies all areas of snowboarding from Olympians, World Cup Medallists, magazine and movie stars to future hopefuls – a true representation of the sport.

The NZSBU National Team features elite riders representing New Zealand snowboarding heading into the 2009-2010 Northern Hemisphere winter season. Returning members to the team include: Juliane Bray (Wanaka), Nick Brown (Queenstown), Mitch Brown (Mt. Maunganui), Shelly Gotlieb (Ohakune), James Hamilton (Auckland), Nick Hyne (Mt. Maunganui), Will Jackways (Wanaka), Jacob Koia (Arrowtown), Abby Lockhart (WANAKA), and Stef Zeestraten (Christchurch). Moving up to the national team this year are Kendall Brown (Mt Maunganui) and Adaptive Snowboarder, Carl Murphy (New Plymouth).

The Development Squad consists of riders who are expected to one day make the National Team and/or who are excelling with significant potential in their chosen pathway. The Squad members can represent New Zealand at any international level event, including Youth Worlds; Junior Worlds; US Amateur Snowboard Association Nationals; World Snowboard Federation; International Ski Federation or Ticket-to-Ride events.

With the conclusion of the Southern Hemisphere Winter season, team members are gearing up for the Northern Hemisphere Season and the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. To find out the latest on the team members in the Northern Hemisphere visit: and .

The NZSBU represents the sport of snowboarding in New Zealand and is a member of Snow Sports New Zealand, the official governing body for snow sports in New Zealand. Following is a list of each of the teams named by the NZSBU.

NZSBU 2009/2010Teams:

National Team:
Juliane Bray (Wanaka)
Kendall Brown (Mt Maunganui)
Mitch Brown (Mt Maunganui)
Nick Brown (Queenstown)
Shelly Gotlieb (Ohakune),
James Hamilton (Auckland),
Nick Hyne (Mt Maunganui)
Will Jackways (Wanaka)
Jacob Koia (Arrowtown)
Abby Lockhart (Wanaka)
Carl Murphy (New Plymouth)
Stef Zeestraten (Christchurch)

The Development Squad:


Returning Members:
William Harris (Wanaka)
Andy Kennerley (Wanaka)
Roland Morley Brown (Auckland)
Heath Patterson (Mt Maunganui)
Christy Prior (Auckland)
Ellie Richards (New Plymouth)
Paula Mitchell (Wellington)

New Members:
Mark Anderson (Queenstown)
Liam Ryan (Wanaka)


Returning Members:
Ben Comber (Christchurch)
Connor Harding (Wanaka)
Stefi Luxton (Wanaka)
Joram Makuru (Wanaka)
Rebecca Sinclair (Taupo)
Ben Stewart (Whangamata)
Benji Sutherland (Wanaka)

New Members:
Jake Mills (Hamilton)


Returning Members:
Jay Walsh (Wanaka)
Katie Logan (Auckland)
Mac James (Wanaka)

New Members:
Scott Brodie (Auckland)
Fraser Dowling (Wanaka)
Tay Pattison (Auckland)


Returning Members:
Tim Herbert (Wanaka)
Hamish Bagley (Arrowtown)
Conor Hayes (Wanaka)

New Members:
Will Saxon (Queenstown)


Returning Members:
Melissa Albom (Wanaka)

New Members:
Duncan Campbell (Arrowtown)
Lyon Farrell (Arrowtown)
Seb Judge (Waitakere)
JJ Rayward (Wanaka)
Kristal Roberts (Cromwell)